Preloader Operavision

Ópera XXI Awards

2nd Edition and the highlight of the Spanish opera calendar

The second edition of Ópera XXI Awards celebrates the best of opera in Spain and the central role that opera plays in our culture and society. The global pandemic means that the gala ceremony, initially scheduled in March in Barcelona's Gran Teatre del Liceu, now moves online to OperaVision for the whole world to enjoy via streaming - and on World Opera Day too! A touching homage to theatre professionals and leading artists is guaranteed.
Ópera XXI - the Association of theaters, festivals and opera companies in Spain, which connects 26 institutions - has promoted these Awards since 2018 to acknowledge the best of lyrical activity on Spanish stages. The ceremony will include many special elements, among them the performances of two winning artists, the North American soprano Sondra Radvanovsky and the Sevillian soprano Leonor Bonilla, and will also feature words from Spanish and international singers, such as Ainhoa Arteta, Carlos Álvarez and Saioa Hernández.

Join us on Sunday 25 October at 19:00 CET.


The Awards

• Sondra Radvanovsky, Best Singer Award, for her leading role in Verdi's Luisa Miller, at the Gran Teatre del Liceu in July 2019, as well as for the recital-tribute to Montserrat Caballé at the Castell de Peralada Festival.
• Leonor Bonilla, Prize for the Best Young Singer, for Lucia di Lamermoor at the Maestranza, Il viaggio a Reims at the Tenerife Opera, Orfeo and Eurydice at the Villamarta Theatre and Capriccio at Teatro Real Madrid.
• Nicola Luisotti, Best Musical Director Award for Turandot at the Teatro Real.
• Cristof Loy, Best Stage Director Award for Capriccio at the Teatro Real.
• Teatro de la Zarzuela, Award for Best New Production for the Spanish opera La casa de Bernarda Alba.
• Opera de Butxaca i Nova Creació (OBNC), Award for Best Lyric Promotion Initiative.
• Gran Teatro de Lima, Best New Latin American Production, for Alzira by Verdi.

Honorary Awards

• La Caixa, Best Sponsorship Initiative.
• José Antonio Campos Borrego, Honorary Award for a Professional Career.
• Amigos Canarios of the Opera of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Prize to the Cultural Institution.