Orphée aux Enfers
Festival d’Aix-en-Provence

Orphée aux Enfers

Offenbach
Diffusé le Disponible jusqu'au Enregistré le
Chanté en
français
Sous-titres en
anglais
français

Voici une interprétation irrévérencieuse de l'histoire tragique des amants Orphée et Eurydice. Avec ses librettistes Hector Crémieux et Ludovic Halévy, Jacques Offenbach crée une merveilleuse panoplie de personnages venus du ciel, empêtrés dans une série de péripéties sur le chemin des enfers. 

Eurydice déteste la musique personnifiée par son époux, Orphée, un humble professeur de musique de Thèbes. Aristée, berger et séducteur divin, est en fait Pluton sous un déguisement. Jupiter, père des dieux, est un véritable coureur de jupons, tandis que les déesses et les dieux sont las du quotidien de l'Olympe et sont à la recherche de distractions. Brûlant de curiosité au sujet de la belle jeune fille qui s’est faite enlevée et de la compétition entre Jupiter et Pluton pour les faveurs d'Eurydice, l'illustre compagnie s'embarque dans une chevauchée infernale aux enfers, culminant dans ce qui est probablement le cancan le plus célèbre de l'histoire de la musique. Dans cette production enchanteresse du Festival d'Aix-en-Provence de 2009 avec une distribution composée de jeunes chanteurs de l'Académie européenne de musique, le metteur en scène Yves Beaunesne transpose l'action dans les années 1940 et la déploie sur les quatre étages d'une demeure bourgeoise. De la cuisine (la maison d'Orphée) au grenier (les Enfers), en passant par la salle à manger (l'Olympe) et la chambre à coucher (le boudoir de Pluton), il met en lumière tout l'humour et l'élégance du chef-d'œuvre satirique d'Offenbach.

DISTRIBUTION

Eurydice
Pauline Courtin
Orphée
Julien Behr
Aristée / Pluton
Mathias Vidal
Jupiter
Vincent Deliau
L’Opinion Publique
Marie Gautrot
John Styx
Jérôme Billy
Mercure
Paul Cremazy
Cupidon
Emmanuelle De Negri
Diane
Soula Parassidis
Vénus
Marie Kalinine
Minerve
Estelle Kaique
Junon
Sabine Revault d'Allonnes
Chœurs
Chorus of Festival d’Aix-en-Provence
Orchestre
Camerata Salzburg
...
Musique
Jacques Offenbach
Texte
Hector Crémieux
Ludovic Halévy
Direction musicale
Alain Altinoglu
Mise en scène
Yves Beaunesne
Dramaturgie, adaptatrice
Marion Bernède
Chef des Chœurs
Nicolas Kruger
Chorégraphie
Jean Gaudin
Décors
Damien Caille-Perret
Lumières
Joël Hourbeigt
Costumes
Patrice Cauchetier
Maquillage et coiffures
Catherine Saint-Sever
...

Vidéos

Extrait

Partons, partons !

Lorsque l’Opinion publique et Orphée viennent réclamer Eurydice, tout l’Olympe décide de descendre aux Enfers : Jupiter par curiosité pour la jolie femme, les autres dieux pour s’amuser un peu.

Lire moinsLire la suite
En coulisses

Yves Beaunesne (metteur en scène)

Yves Beaunesne a mis en scène Orphée aux Enfers lors de l'édition 2009 du Festival d'Aix-en-Provence. À l'occasion de sa diffusion sur OperaVision, le metteur en scène revient treize ans plus tard sur cette production et partage avec nous quelques pensées sur Offenbach et sa satire politique et sociale.

Lire moinsLire la suite

L'HISTOIRE

Acte I

Premier tableau
Dans les environs de Thèbes vivent Orphée, professeur de violon, et Aristée, apiculteur. Quant à l’Opinion publique, elle veille sur la moralité de ses concitoyens. En effet, Eurydice dédaigne le logis conjugal pour rôder chez son beau voisin. Rentrant d’une journée de cours, Orphée ne cache pas son irritation et le couple se dispute violemment. Tout semble bien fini entre eux. Pourtant, Eurydice tremble pour Aristée : il semble qu’Orphée ait posé un piège dans le champ à son intention. En vérité, c’est Aristée qui cherche à piéger Eurydice. Elle succombe d’ailleurs sans tarder, à la grande joie de l’apiculteur qui n’est autre que Pluton, bien décidé à emmener sa chère Eurydice dans l’empire infernal. De retour pour le dîner, Orphée apprend la mort de sa femme. Il n’a pas le temps de se réjouir que l’Opinion publique l’interpelle : il perdra tous ses revenus s’il ne part pas réclamer Eurydice.

Deuxième tableau
Sur l’Olympe, les dieux dorment à l’exception de Cupidon et de Vénus, qui ont fait le mur, et de Diane, qui rentre bien affligée du bain où elle n’a pas retrouvé son Actéon. Jupiter tonne contre la licence des mœurs divines mais Junon vient lui reprocher ses infidélités répétées.
Pourtant, il n’est pour rien dans l’affaire Eurydice. Sur les informations de Mercure, il convoque Pluton. Celui-ci feint de déplorer son sort mais il est interrompu par une manifestation des dieux, excédés de leur vie sur l’Olympe et de l’hypocrisie de Jupiter. Aussi, lorsque l’Opinion publique et Orphée viennent réclamer Eurydice, tout l’Olympe décide de descendre aux Enfers : Jupiter par curiosité pour la jolie femme, les autres dieux pour s’amuser un peu.

Acte II

Troisième tableau
Enfermée dans le boudoir de Pluton, Eurydice s’ennuie déjà, d’autant que son geôlier John Styx, qui a tendance à trop boire l’eau du Léthé, l’agace avec ses soupirs amoureux et le récit de sa vie. Styx a juste le temps de la dissimuler quand arrive Pluton escorté du soupçonneux Jupiter, qui cherche la jeune femme et finit par la localiser derrière une porte close. Qu’à cela ne tienne, Cupidon le métamorphose en mouche qui passe par le trou de la serrure et lutine la coquette. Ravie de la rencontre, Eurydice s’échappe.

Quatrième tableau
A la bacchanale que les Enfers offrent à leurs invités de l’Olympe, Eurydice déguisée en bacchante chante la gloire de Bacchus, puis Jupiter commande un menuet royal, et tout s’achève dans un galop infernal. Les nouveaux amants s’apprêtent à fuir quand le jaloux Pluton les arrête et rappelle ses devoirs à Jupiter. Justement, voici Orphée, guidé par l’Opinion publique. L’entrevue est solennelle. Pour protéger sa réputation, Jupiter feint d’accéder à la demande d’Orphée mais pose une condition « expresse autant qu’inexplicable » : qu’il ne se retourne pas vers son épouse en partant. Pour l’obliger à accomplir le mouvement fatal, le dieu envoie un coup de foudre. Orphée se retourne machinalement. Pour confirmer la libération d’Eurydice, Jupiter la transforme en bacchante.

EN PROFONDEUR

Quatre questions à Yves Beaunesne, metteur en scène

Comment appréhendez-vous les deux versions de l’oeuvre et ses dialogues ?

Orphée aux Enfers est l’oeuvre la plus caustique d’Offenbach, une causticité qu’il revisite en 1874. L’humour dévastateur d’Offenbach déclenche deux rires : un rire léger naît du propos politique et social, un grand rire franc répond à son traitement de la mythologie. Il faut, pour retrouver la radicalité originelle, inverser ces proportions : la mythologie n’appartient plus à nos références alors qu’elle était un pilier des humanités classiques qui formaient la bourgeoisie. Restituer la lettre de l’oeuvre, ce serait aujourd’hui en trahir l’esprit. Il m’est apparu indispensable de la transposer afin de retrouver un rapport à l’époque et à la société qui soit fidèle à ce que proposaient Offenbach et ses librettistes. Soulignons que c’est la démarche même du compositeur qui n’hésitait jamais à réécrire pour assurer l’efficacité d’un spectacle. Nous n’avons bien sûr pas touché aux paroles chantées : seul le dialogue parlé est réécrit afin de faire mettre en exergue la critique sociale, qui est au centre de l’oeuvre et qui lui donne toute sa pertinence aujourd'hui.

La fracture du couple mythique est-elle d’emblée irrémédiable?

Dans Orphée aux Enfers, je retiens « Enfers ». L’esprit décapant de l’oeuvre nous a fait penser aux cabarets parisiens des années 1930, à sa peinture au vitriol d’un monde en plein défoulement, courant au plaisir et à sa perte, où chacun cherche à sauver sa peau. Dans cet univers, Eurydice occupe une position centrale : n’appartenant à personne, elle devient le jouet de tout le monde, elle est choisie au lieu de choisir. Nous l’envisageons comme une petite bonne parisienne telle qu’on en trouvait dans les quartiers bourgeois, mais aussi dans la littérature et l’imaginaire masculin. Elle est tentée par l’ascenseur social et va y laisser des plumes, peut-être même se faire complètement broyer. Les personnages de la pièce sont noirs et gris, elle seule conserve quelques couleurs par sa liberté et sa joie intérieure qui nous touchent. Avec sa partition virtuose, sa volubilité musicale qui échappe à la logique cartésienne des hommes, elle me fait penser à ce canari en cage que les mineurs descendaient avec eux dans les galeries, et dont le dernier cri signalait l’imminence du danger.

Quel décor avez-vous imaginé pour Orphée aux Enfers ?

Même si Offenbach conçoit son oeuvre à une époque de régression politique et d’explosion économique proche de la nôtre, il nous fallait la déposer dans un temps et un espace qui nous la rendent plus percutante. Les années précédant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la capitale et ses hôtels particuliers cossus nous ont paru en accord avec l’esprit de l’oeuvre. La verticalité du décor, qui se déploie sur les quatre étages d’une demeure bourgeoise avec sa logique métaphorique des escaliers, suggère non une descente mais une montée aux Enfers. Le mouvement général est celui d’une course folle, d’une licence de plus en plus débridée, de plaisirs toujours plus forts et brutaux. À Paris, pour la bourgeoisie, le mouvement ascendant peut être synonyme de danger : on monte à Belleville, aux Buttes Chaumont, à la Butte Montmartre, au Moulin-Rouge, vers les quartiers de plaisir ou les enclaves populaires où se fomentent les révoltes. La Marseillaise, qui résonne dans le choeur de la révolte des dieux, ne redeviendra hymne national qu’en 1879. Ce qui guette Eurydice enfermée dans cette société, c’est l’encanaillement sur son dos que promet le cancan final. Elle joue une partie dramatique avec les cartes de la comédie.

Quelle place reste-t-il au mythe dans cette vision de l’oeuvre ?

C’est le mythe qui garantit la liberté, le détour métaphorique et l’ouverture au rêve. Le caractère par essence malléable du mythe autorise ainsi l’intrusion du personnage de l’Opinion publique, si important dans le départ d’Orphée aux Enfers, et qui a provoqué un an plus tôt les procès de Madame Bovary et des Fleurs du mal... Le rêve, qui naît de la musique et de ses distorsions avec le texte, donne une chance aux personnages. Quelque chose dans la musique continue à raconter le courage d’Eurydice pour laquelle Offenbach éprouve une grande tendresse et qu’il plante dans nos coeurs. À travers cette figure, la partition exhale une humanité et une bienveillance dans lesquelles Nietzsche voyait la forme suprême de la spiritualité d’Offenbach : « un modèle de musique voltairienne, un idéal de frivolité ». Avec lui, le rire a la capacité supérieure de déjouer la réalité à courte vue au profit des lendemains qui chantent.

Entretien d’Agnès Terrier extrait du programme 2009 du Festival d’Aix-en-Provence

Orphée aux Enfers
Festival d’Aix-en-Provence

Orphée aux Enfers

Offenbach
Streamed on Available until Recorded on
Sung in
French
Subtitles in
English
French

Here is an irreverent take on the tragic story of the lovers Orpheus and Eurydice. With his librettists Hector Crémieux and Ludovic Halévy, Jacques Offenbach creates a wonderful array of characters from the heavens who find themselves caught up in domestic antics. 

Eurydice, the central figure, hates the music personified by her spouse, Orpheus, a humble music teacher from Thebes. Aristaeus, a shepherd and divine seducer, is actually Pluto himself disguised. Jupiter, father of the gods, is constantly on the prowl for the ladies. Yes the goddesses and gods are weary of everyday life on Olympus and are in search of diversions. Burning with curiosity about the beautiful abductee and the contest between Jupiter and Pluto for the favour of Eurydice, the illustrious company embarks on a hellish ride into the underworld, culminating in what is probably the most famous can-can in music history. In this enchanting production from the Festival d’Aix-en-Provence from 2009 with a young cast from the European Academy of Music, director Yves Beaunesne transposes the action to the 1940s and spreads it over the four floors of a bourgeois residence. From the kitchen (Orpheus' home) to the attic (the Underworld), via the dining room (Olympus) and the bedroom (Pluto's boudoir), he succeeds in teasing out all the humour and elegance of Offenbach’s satirical masterpiece.

Cast

Eurydice
Pauline Courtin
Orphée
Julien Behr
Aristée / Pluton
Mathias Vidal
Jupiter
Vincent Deliau
L’Opinion Publique
Marie Gautrot
John Styx
Jérôme Billy
Mercure
Paul Cremazy
Cupidon
Emmanuelle De Negri
Diane
Soula Parassidis
Vénus
Marie Kalinine
Minerve
Estelle Kaique
Junon
Sabine Revault d'Allonnes
Chorus
Chorus of Festival d’Aix-en-Provence
Orchestra
Camerata Salzburg
...
Music
Jacques Offenbach
Text
Hector Crémieux
Ludovic Halévy
Conductor
Alain Altinoglu
Director
Yves Beaunesne
Dramaturgy, adaptation
Marion Bernède
Chorus Master
Nicolas Kruger
Choreography
Jean Gaudin
Sets
Damien Caille-Perret
Lighting
Joël Hourbeigt
Costumes
Patrice Cauchetier
Hair and Make-Up
Catherine Saint-Sever
...

Videos

Extract

Partons, partons !

When Public Opinion and Orpheus come to claim Eurydice, all of Olympus decides to descend to the Underworld; Jupiter out of curiosity about the pretty woman, the other gods in search of a little fun.

Read lessRead more
Behind the scenes

Yves Beaunesne (Director)

Yves Beaunesne directed Orphée aux Enfers (Orpheus in the Underworld) in 2009 at the Aix-en-Provence Festival. Now streamed on OperaVision a decade later, Beaunesne shares some thoughts on Offenbach, his political and social satire, and reminds us of the story.

Read lessRead more

THE STORY

Act I

First tableau
Orpheus, a violin teacher, and Aristaeus, a beekeeper, live in the vicinity of Thebes. Public Opinion watches over the morality of her fellow citizens. Eurydice pooh-poohs her marital home, on the prowl around the house of a handsome neighbour. Returning from a day of classes, Orpheus does not hide his irritation and the couple quarrel heatedly. Their marriage seems on the rocks. Eurydice is weak at the knees for Aristaeus and it seems that Orpheus has set a trap in the field for her. In truth, it is Aristaeus who is trying to trap Eurydice. She succumbs with little resistance, to the great joy of the beekeeper, who is none other than Pluto, determined to take his beloved Eurydice to the infernal empire. Back for dinner, Orpheus learns that his wife has died. He has no time to rejoice when Public Opinion calls on him: he will lose all his income if he does not set out to claim back Eurydice.

Second tableau
On Olympus, the gods are asleep, except for Cupid and Venus, who have gone out on the town, and Diana, who has returned from her bath vexed for not having found her Actaeon. Jupiter rails against the licentiousness of divine morals, but Juno is quick to reproach him for his repeated infidelities. However, he had nothing to do with the Eurydice affair. Following a tip-off from Mercury, Jupiter summons Pluto. Pluto pretends to bemoan his fate but is interrupted by a demonstration of the gods, fed up with their life on Olympus and Jupiter's hypocrisy. So when Public Opinion and Orpheus come to claim Eurydice, all of Olympus decides to descend to the Underworld; Jupiter out of curiosity about the pretty woman, the other gods in search of a little fun.

Act II

Third tableau
Locked up in Pluto's boudoir, Eurydice is already bored, especially as her jailer John Styx, who tends to drink too much of Lethe's water, bothers her with his amorous sighs and life story. Styx has just enough time to hide her before Pluto arrives escorted by the suspicious Jupiter, who searches for the young woman and finally locates her behind a closed door. Cupid transforms Jupiter into a fly, which flies through the keyhole to seduce the little flirt Eurydice. The latter, delighted by the encounter, then escapes.

Fourth tableau
At the bacchanal that the Underworld offers to its guests from Olympus, Eurydice, disguised as a bacchante, sings the glory of Bacchus, then Jupiter orders a royal minuet, and everything ends in a demonic gallop. The new lovers are about to flee when the jealous Pluto stops them and reminds Jupiter of his duties. Forward steps Orpheus, led by Public Opinion. The meeting is solemn. To protect his reputation, Jupiter pretends to grant Orpheus' request, but sets an 'express and inexplicable' condition: that he does not look back at his wife when he leaves. To force him to make the fatal move, the god release a thunderbolt. Orpheus turns around automatically. To confirm Eurydice's release, Jupiter transforms her into a bacchante.

Insights

Four questions to Yves Beaunesne, director

What is your take on Offenbach’s two versions of the opera and its dialogues?

Orpheus in the Underworld is Offenbach's most caustic work from 1858, an incisiveness he revisited in 1874. Offenbach's devastating humour triggers two laughs: a light laugh at the political and social subject matter, and a greater laugh at his treatment of mythology. To get back to the original radicality, these proportions must be reversed: mythology no longer speaks to us so directly, although it was a pillar of the classical humanities that formed the bourgeoisie. To simply restore the opera would be to betray its spirit. I felt it was essential to transpose it to find a new relationship with time and society that is faithful to what Offenbach and his librettists gave us. Indeed, this was Offenbach’s very approach, as never hesitated to rewrite parts to ensure the effectiveness of a show. Of course, we have not touched the sung lyrics: only the spoken dialogues are partially rewritten to emphasise the social criticism, which is at the heart of the work and which gives it its relevance today.

Is the break up of the mythical couple irremediable from the start?

In Orpheus in the Underworld, I hold on to 'Underworld'. The caustic spirit of the work made us think of the Parisian cabarets of the 1930s, its vitriolic depiction of a world spinning out of control, hurtling towards pleasure and loss, where everyone is trying to save their own skin. In this world, Eurydice occupies a central position: belonging to no one, she becomes everyone's plaything, she is chosen rather than doing any choosing herself. We see her as a little Parisian maid, such as could be found in bourgeois neighbourhoods, but also in literature and the male imagination. She is tempted by upward social mobility and will lose her feathers on the way up, perhaps even be completely crushed. The characters in the piece are black and grey, only she retains some colour through her freedom and inner joy, which touches us. With her virtuoso score, her musical volubility that escapes the Cartesian logic of men; she reminds me of the caged canary that the miners used to take down with them into the galleries, and whose last warble signalled the imminence of danger.

In what environment did you see this Orpheus in the Underworld?

Even though Offenbach conceived his work in a period of political regression and economic explosion close to our own, we have had set it in a time and space that would make it more striking. The years preceding the Second World War, the French capital and its opulent mansions seemed to us to be in keeping with the spirit of the opera. The verticality of the set, which unfolds over the four floors of a bourgeois mansion, with its metaphorical logic of stairs, suggests not a descent but an ascent into the underworld. The general movement is that of a mad rush, of increasingly unbridled licence, of ever stronger and more brutal pleasures. In Paris, for the bourgeoisie, the upward movement can be synonymous with danger: one goes up to Belleville, to the Buttes Chaumont, to the Butte Montmartre, to the Moulin-Rouge, to the pleasure districts or the popular enclaves where revolts are whipped up. The Marseillaise, which resounds in the chorus of the revolt of the gods, was only to become the national anthem again in 1879. The threat to Eurydice, a victim of this society, is a vulgar end that the final cancan suggests. She plays a tragic hand with the cards of comedy.

What place is left for myth in this vision of the opera?

It is the myth that guarantees freedom, metaphorical diversions and openness to dreaming. The inherently malleable nature of myth thus authorises the intrusion of the Public Opinion, so important in Orpheus's departure for the Underworld, and which a year earlier had provoked the trials of Madame Bovary and Les Fleurs du mal... The dream, which is born of the music and its distortions with the text, gives the characters a chance. Something in the music continues to tell of the courage of Eurydice, for whom Offenbach feels great tenderness and who he slips into our hearts. Through this character, the score exudes a humanity and benevolence in which Nietzsche saw the supreme form of Offenbach's spirituality: ‘a model of Voltairian music, an ideal of frivolity’. With Offenbach, laughter has the superior ability to outwit short-sighted reality for the sake of a brighter tomorrow.

Interview by Agnès Terrier, extract from the 2009 Aix-en-Provence Festival programme