11th Moniuszko Competition, Juliana Grigoryan
11th Moniuszko Competition, Juliana Grigoryan
Polish National Opera

11th International Stanisław Moniuszko Vocal Competition

En direct le Disponible jusqu'au
Chanté en
plusieurs langues

Une soirée en direct de Polish National Opera pour découvrir la nouvelle génération de talents et profiter d'un récital du jeune contre-ténor le plus acclamé de Pologne.

Organisé par Polish National Opera, Teatr Wielki,  le Concours international de chant Stanisław Moniuszko (International Stanisław Moniuszko Vocal Competition) est le plus grand concours de chant en Pologne et un événement important à l'international. Créé en 1992 par Maria Fołtyn, soprano polonaise, directrice d'opéra, animatrice et fervente promotrice de la musique polonaise, le concours fête aujourd'hui son onzième anniversaire. Tous les trois ans, de jeunes artistes du monde entier se réunissent à Varsovie pour démontrer leurs talents devant un prestigieux jury. Pour Mariusz Kwiecień, Andrzej Filończyk, Ewa Tracz et bien d'autres artistes éminents, le concours s'est avéré un tremplin vers une carrière internationale. Au cours de cette soirée, une fois que tous les concurrents se sont produits, deux anciens lauréats célèbres, Jakub Józef Orliński et Michał Biel, reviennent sur la scène de Varsovie pour donner un récital en attendant le verdict du jury.

Distribution

Finalists
Rafael Alejandro Del Angel Garcia
Darija Auguštan
Eliza Boom
Inna Fedorii
Juliana Grigoryan
Szymon Mechliński
Dean Murphy
Volodymyr Tyshkov
Nombulelo Yende
Yuliia Zasimova
Xiaomeng Zhang
Zuzanna Nalewajek
...

En profondeur

Le père de l'opéra polonais

Stanisław Moniuszko (1819-1872) était un compositeur polonaise, considéré aujourd'hui par beaucoup comme le créateur de l'opéra polonais.

Né en 1819 à Ubiel, dans l'actuelle Biélorussie, Moniuszko commence à apprendre la musique avec sa mère pour professeur. Lorsque sa famille déménage à Minsk, il étudie avec Dominik Dziewanowski, puis se forme avec August Freyer à Varsovie. Juste avant le soulèvement de novembre (1830), la famille retourne à Ubiel. En 1836, Moniuszko part à nouveau à Berlin pour étudier la musique avec Carl Rungenhagen, le directeur de la Singakademie de la ville.

Il termine ses études en 1840 et retourne en Pologne. Il épouse Aleksandra Müllerówna, qu'il rencontre quelques années auparavant, et s'installe à Vilnius, où il gagne sa vie comme organiste à l'église Saint-Jean. Simultanément, il s'implique dans des projets artistiques destinés à animer la vie musicale de la ville. Il organise des représentations de ses opéras et opérettes dans des salons privés. En 1847, sous l'influence de Włodzimierz Wolski, un homme de lettres de Varsovie, Moniuszko écrit l'opéra en deux actes Halka, qui est joué en version de concert à Vilnius, mais ne connaît qu'un succès local. Cependant, les contacts du compositeur avec la bourgeoisie et l'aristocratie de Varsovie, par exemple Józef Sikorski, rédacteur en chef du magazine musical "Ruch Muzyczny", et le général Ignacy Abramowicz, directeur de l'administration du théâtre d'État, vont entraîner un changement significatif dans la vie et la carrière de Moniuszko.

Le tournant a lieu en 1858, lorsqu'une nouvelle version de Halka en quatre actes est présentée pour la première fois. Peu après, le général Abramowicz nomme Moniuszko chef d'orchestre des opéras polonais au Teatr Wielki de Varsovie. À partir de ce moment, Moniuszko présente un nouvel opéra chaque année. Son Flis est donné à la fin de 1858, Hrabina est créé en 1860, et Verbum Nobile en 1861. En raison des tensions croissantes à Varsovie au début de l'insurrection de janvier (1863), la première du Manoir hanté de Moniuszko est retardée. Considéré comme la plus grande réussite de Moniuszko, avec Halka, il ne sera créé qu'en 1865. Avant sa mort, Moniuszko réussi à achever Paria et Beata, laissant derrière lui quelques œuvres inachevées.

Installé à Varsovie, Moniuszko prend un poste à l'Institut de musique nouvellement ouvert, où il enseigne l'harmonie et le contrepoint. La grande famille de Moniuszko (Stanisław et Aleksandra eurent dix enfants) vit à proximité du Teatr Wielki : aujourd'hui, on peut voir des plaques commémorant le compositeur sur les murs des immeubles de la rue Mazowiecka et dans la vieille ville. Stanisław Moniuszko est entré dans l'histoire comme le "père de l'opéra polonais" et l'un des principaux compositeurs polonais de chansons d'art. Il a compilé un recueil de plus de deux cents chansons intitulé Śpiewnik domowy, qui constitue un précieux contrepoint à l'héritage romantique de Franz Schubert et Robert Schumann. La chanson la plus populaire du recueil est Prząśniczka.

Stanisław Moniuszko est mort d'une insuffisance cardiaque le 4 juin 1872 à Varsovie et est  enterré au cimetière de Powązki. Un musée qui lui est consacré a été créé à Ubiel dans les années 1980. La plupart de ses œuvres sont conservées à la bibliothèque de la Société de musique de Varsovie, que Moniuszko a cofondée.

Largement reconnu comme un compositeur d'opéra et de chansons, Moniuszko a également écrit de la musique de chambre, de ballet, mais aussi des compositions pour piano et pour orgue.

11th Moniuszko Competition, Juliana Grigoryan
11th Moniuszko Competition, Juliana Grigoryan
Polish National Opera and Ballet

11th International Stanisław Moniuszko Vocal Competition

Live on Available until
Sung in
various languages

This evening’s programme of singing live from Polish National Opera is the chance to discover the next generation of talent and enjoy a recital by Poland’s most acclaimed young countertenor.

Organised by the Polish National Opera, Teatr Wielki, the International Stanisław Moniuszko Vocal Competition is the biggest singing competition in Poland and one of the leading events of its kind in the world. Established in 1992 by Maria Fołtyn, Polish soprano, opera director, animateur, and tireless promoter of Polish music, the Competition is now celebrating its eleventh anniversary. Every three years young artists from around the world gather in Warsaw to present their skills and abilities before a prestigious selection panel. For Mariusz Kwiecień, Andrzej Filończyk and Ewa Tracz and many other fine artists, the competition has been a launch pad for an international career.  Tonight, once all the competitors have performed, two famous former prize winners, Jakub Józef Orliński and Michał Biel, return to the stage in Warsaw to give a recital while we await the jury’s verdict.  

Cast

Finalists
Rafael Alejandro Del Angel Garcia
Darija Auguštan
Eliza Boom
Inna Fedorii
Juliana Grigoryan
Szymon Mechliński
Dean Murphy
Volodymyr Tyshkov
Nombulelo Yende
Yuliia Zasimova
Xiaomeng Zhang
Zuzanna Nalewajek
...

Videos

Extract

Ten zegar stary

Ukrainian bass Volodymyr Tyshkov won Second Prize Male Voices at the 11th International Stanisław Moniuszko Vocal Competition, at Polish National Opera in Warsaw. In this extract, he sings ‘Ten zegar stary’ from Moniuszko's opera The Haunted Manor (Straszny dwór).

Read lessRead more
Extract

Ha! Dzieciątko nam umiera... O mój maleńki

South African soprano Nombulelo Yende won First Prize Female Voices at the 11th International Stanisław Moniuszko Vocal Competition, at Polish National Opera in Warsaw. In this extract, she sings ‘Ha! Dzieciątko nam umiera... O mój maleńki’ from Moniuszko's opera Halka.

Read lessRead more
Extract

Un bel dì, vedremo

Armenian soprano Juliana Grigoryan won the Grand Prix at the 11th International Stanisław Moniuszko Vocal Competition, at Polish National Opera in Warsaw. In this extract, she sings ‘Un bel dì, vedremo’ from Puccini's opera Madama Butterfly.

Read lessRead more

Insights

The father of Polish opera

Stanisław Moniuszko (1819–1872) was a Polish composer widely regarded today as the creator of Polish national opera.

He was born in 1819 in Ubiel in present-day Belarus. He began learning music with his mother as a teacher. When the family moved to Minsk, he studied with Dominik Dziewanowski, then trained with August Freyer in Warsaw. Just before the November Uprising (1830), the family went back to Ubiel. In 1836 Moniuszko left again for Berlin to study music with Carl Rungenhagen, the head of the city’s Singakademie.

Having completed his studies in 1840, Moniuszko retuned to Poland. He married Aleksandra Müllerówna, whom he had met a few years back, and settled in Vilnius, earning a living as organist at Saint John’s church. Simultaniously, he was involved in artistic projects meant to animate the city’s music life. He organised performances of his operas and operettas in private salons. In 1847, under the influence of Włodzimierz Wolski, a man of letters from Warsaw, Moniuszko wrote the two-act opera Halka, which was performed in a concert version in Vilnius, yet enjoyed merely local success. However, the composer’s contacts with Warsaw’s bourgeoisie and aristocracy, e.g. Józef Sikorski, editor-in-chief of the music magazine ‘Ruch Muzyczny’, and General Ignacy Abramowicz, director of the state theatre administration, were to bring a significant shift in Moniuszko’s life and career.

The turning point came in 1858, when a new, four-act, version of Halka was given its debut. Soon afterwards, General Abramowicz appointed Moniuszko Conductor of Polish Operas at Warsaw’s Teatr Wielki. From that moment on, Moniuszko would present a new opera each subsequent year. His Flis (The Raftsman) was given a debut at the end of 1858, Hrabina (The Countess) premiered in 1860, and Verbum Nobile opened in 1861. As  tensions were growing in Warsaw on the onset of the January Uprising (1863), the premiere of Moniuszko’s The Haunted Manor was delayed. Considered Moniuszko greatest achievement along with Halka, it was given a debut only in 1865. Before he died, Moniuszko had managed to complete Paria and Beata, leaving a few other works unfinished. 

Having settled in Warsaw, Moniuszko took up a post at the newly-opened Institute of Music, teaching harmony and counterpoint. Moniuszko’s large family (Stanisław and Aleksandra had ten children) lived close to the Teatr Wielki: today you can see plaques commemorating the composer on the walls of buildings on Mazowiecka Street and in the Old Town. Stanisław Moniuszko went down in history as ‘the father of Polish opera’ and a leading Polish composer of art songs. He compiled a collection of over two hundred songs called Śpiewnik domowy (Songbook for Home Use), which is a valuable counterpoint to the Romantic legacy of Franz Schubert and Robert Schumann. The most popular song in the collection is Prząśniczka.

Stanisław Moniuszko died of heart failure on 4 June 1872 in Warsaw and was buried in the Powązki Cemetery. A museum devoted to him was established in Ubiel in the 1980s. Most of his works are held at the Library of the Warsaw Music Society, which Moniuszko co-founded. 

Widely recognised as an opera and art song composer, Moniuszko also wrote chamber, ballet, piano, and organ music.