Dutch National Opera & Ballet

Juditha Triumphans

Vivaldi
Ce spectacle n'est plus disponible en vidéo à la demande, mais vous pouvez encore profiter des contenus annexes à la production.

Alors que son village est assiégé, une veuve audacieuse implore le général qui les a envahi de prendre pitié. Sentant le militaire sous son charme, elle aura recours à la ruse pour essayer de sauver son peuple.

Le courage triomphe dans cet oratorio allégorique. Bien qu'elle ne soit pas destinée au théâtre, l'intrigue se prête parfaitement à la mise en scène. Andrea Marcon, éminent spécialiste du baroque et de Vivaldi, dirige son propre ensemble de musique ancienne, La Cetra Barockorchester Basel.

Distribution

Juditha
Gaëlle Arquez
Holofernes
Teresa Iervolino
Vagaus
Vasilisa Berzhanskaya
Ozias
Francesca Ascioti
Abra
Polly Leech
Jewish virgin
Gloria Giurgola
Chœurs
Chorus of Dutch National Opera
Orchestre
La Cetra Barockorchester Basel
...
Musique
Antonio Vivaldi
Direction musicale
Andrea Marcon
Mise en scène
Floris Visser
Décors
Dieuweke van Reij
Lumières
Alex Brok
Costumes
Dieuweke van Reij
Chef des Chœurs
Klaas-Jan de Groot
...

Vidéo

Trailer

BANDE-ANNONCE | JUDITHA TRIUMPHANS Vivaldi - Dutch National Opera and Ballet

Lire moinsLire la suite
Extract

Veni, veni me sequere fida

Juditha (Gaëlle Arquez) a été invitée à dîner avec le général Holofernes. Dans cet air, elle rassure sa servante Abra (Polly Leech) et lui dit que tout ira bien si elle lui fait confiance et reste à ses côtés.
Mis en scène par Floris Visser et dirigé par Andrea Marcon.

Lire moinsLire la suite
Extract

Quamvis ferro, et ense gravis

Vagaus (Vasilisa Berzhanskaya), écuyer à Holopherne, annonce que le général va bientôt arriver. Il promet que même s'il est craint dans tout le pays, il est également charmant et traitera bien Juditha.

Lire moinsLire la suite
Behind the scenes

Floris Visser (Metteur en scène)

« Cet oratorio est l'un des temps forts du baroque », affirme Floris Visser, directeur de l'orchestre. « De l'histoire de la musique même ». Découvrez comment il a mis en scène Juditha Triumphans au Dutch National Opera dans cette interview entre lui et le dramaturge Luc Joosten.

Lire moinsLire la suite

L'histoire

Partie I

Holopherne, général du roi assyrien Nebucadnetsar, prépare l'armée à la prise de la ville de Béthulie. Holopherne est sûr de la victoire et inspire du courage à ses soldats. Vagaus, l'écuyer du général, annonce l'arrivée d'une belle femme de Béthulie. Elle veut parler personnellement à Holopherne, et il accepte la demande de l'étrangère. La femme, Judith, le supplie d'épargner la ville et ses habitants. Holofernes est enchanté par son regard et sa voix et invite Judith à un dîner privé. Malgré quelques réticences, Judith le suit jusqu'à sa résidence.

Partie II

Au dîner, Holofernes porte un toast à la beauté de Judith pendant qu'elle essaie de le tenir à distance. Il promet de maintenir la paix en échange de son amour. De plus en plus sous l'influence du vin, le général sombre dans le sommeil. Judith saisit sa chance et décapite Holopherne avec sa propre épée. Elle et Abra, sa servante, mettent la tête dans un sac et fuient le camp assyrien. De retour à Béthulie, les citoyens et le grand prêtre Ozias saluent Judith comme une héroïne.

En profondeur

5 clés pour aborder Juditha Triumphans

1° Actes de bravoure

L'histoire de Juditha Triumphans est tirée du livre apocryphe de Judith, qui relate le siège assyrien de la ville juive de Béthulie. La belle et jeune veuve Judith se rend chez le commandant de l'armée assyrienne Holopherne pour implorer sa miséricorde et joue de ses charmes. Mais alors qu'il dort, assommé par trop de nourriture et de vin, Judith lui coupe la tête et retourne à Béthulie triomphante. L'histoire de sa bravoure a inspiré des tableaux dramatiques de Giorgione, Caravaggio, Gentileschi et Allori.

2° Femmes en guerre

Vivaldi a d'abord composé Juditha Triumphans pour les filles de l'Ospedale della Pietà, un orphelinat de Venise reconnu internationalement pour son école de musique exceptionnelle. Il l'écrivit donc pour une distribution entièrement féminine, donnant les rôles du général assyrien et du grand prêtre de Béthulie à des solistes contralto. L'oratorio comporte de grands passages de chœur et un orchestre richement instrumenté, comme il convient à l'occasion de sa composition - pour célébrer la victoire vénitienne sur les Turcs lors du siège de Corfou en 1716. Cette victoire fut cependant de courte durée, puisque deux ans plus tard, Venise perdit sa septième - et dernière - guerre avec l'Empire ottoman, déclenchant ainsi le long déclin de l'ancienne grande république maritime. Le livret de Juditha Triumphans est en latin et a été écrit par Iacopo Cassetti.

3° Imitation en boucle

« Cet oratorio est l'un des temps forts de l'époque baroque, voire de toute l'histoire de la musique », explique Floris Visser. Bach a sa Passion selon saint Matthieu, Haendel, son Messie, et Vivaldi a sa Juditha Triumphans. Le hollandais voulait incorporer le portrait de Judith décapitant Holopherne par Caravage, mais il ne savait pas comment y parvenir. Puis il s'est dit : et si Holofernes était un général de la Wehrmacht allemande qui ne se contente pas de massacrer les peuples, mais en vole aussi l'art ?

4° Une musique pour arrêter le temps

La mezzo-soprano française Gaëlle Arquez débute au Dutch National Opera dans le rôle de Juditha. « J'aime sortir de ma zone de confort », dit-elle. C’est ce qui l'a amenée à chanter un répertoire varié de titres dont Xerxes, Carmen, Pelléas et Mélisande et Norma. Aux Victoires de la Musique 2011, Arquez est saluée en tant que « Révélation Lyrique » et sort en 2017 son premier album solo, Ardente Flamme, sur le label Deutsche Grammophon. « C'est comme un feu d'artifice », dit-elle de la musique de Vivaldi. « Il y a de belles décorations vocales, puis des lamentations très calmes, qui sont si profondes que le temps semble s'arrêter. »

5° Bâle baroque

La Cetra Barockorchester a été fondée en 1999 par Peter Reidemeister, alors directeur de la Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. L'orchestre est spécialisé dans la musique ancienne et accompagne régulièrement des opéras au Théâtre de Bâle. Andrea Marcon est chef d'orchestre principal depuis 2009 et, sous sa direction, l'orchestre est devenu l'un des ensembles les plus importants dans la pratique de l'interprétation historiquement éclairée. Le nom La Certa fait référence à un instrument ancien semblable au luth, et le titre d'un ensemble de douze concertos pour violon d'Antonio Vivaldi publié pour la première fois à Amsterdam en 1727 et dédié à Charles VI, empereur du Saint Empire romain.

Dutch National Opera & Ballet

Juditha Triumphans

Vivaldi
This performance is no longer viewable as video-on-demand for rights reasons but other material about the production is still available.

With her village under siege, a daring widow implores the invading general for mercy. Catching the military man with his trousers down, she uses all her cunning and charisma to try and save her people.

Courage triumphs in this allegorical oratorio. Though not intended for the theatre, the twists and turns of the plot lend itself perfectly for staged production. Distinguished Baroque and Vivaldi specialist Andrea Marcon conducts his own early music ensemble, La Cetra Barockorchester Basel.

Cast

Juditha
Gaëlle Arquez
Holofernes
Teresa Iervolino
Vagaus
Vasilisa Berzhanskaya
Ozias
Francesca Ascioti
Abra
Polly Leech
Jewish virgin
Gloria Giurgola
Chorus
Chorus of Dutch National Opera
Orchestra
La Cetra Barockorchester Basel
...
Music
Antonio Vivaldi
Conductor
Andrea Marcon
Director
Floris Visser
Sets
Dieuweke van Reij
Lighting
Alex Brok
Costumes
Dieuweke van Reij
Chorus Master
Klaas-Jan de Groot
...

Video

Trailer

TRAILER | JUDITHA TRIUMPHANS Vivaldi - Dutch National Opera and Ballet

Read lessRead more
Extract

Veni, veni me sequere fida

Juditha (Gaëlle Arquez) has been invited to dine with the general Holofernes. In this aria, she reassures her handmaid, Abra (Polly Leech) that everything will be fine so long as she trusts her and stays by her side.

Read lessRead more
Extract

Quamvis ferro, et ense gravis

Vagaus (Vasilisa Berzhanskaya), squire to Holofernes, announces that the general will soon arrive. He promises that though he is feared throughout the land, he is also charming and will treat Juditha well.

Read lessRead more
Behind the scenes

Floris Visser (Director)

'This oratorio is one of the highlights of the baroque,' claims director Floris Visser. 'Of music history, even.' Hear how he turned Juditha Triumphans into a staged production at Dutch National Opera in this interview between him and dramaturg Luc Joosten.

Read lessRead more

The story

Part I

Holofernes, the general of the Assyrian King Nebuchadnezzar, prepares the army for the storming of the city of Bethulia. Holofernes is sure of victory and inspires courage in his soldiers. Vagaus, the general’s squire, announces the arrival of a beautiful woman from Bethulia. She wants to speak to Holofernes personally, and he agrees to the stranger’s request. The woman, Judith, begs him to spare the city and its inhabitants. Holofernes is enchanted by her looks and her voice and invites Judith for a private dinner. After some reluctance at first, Judith follows him to his residence.

Part II

At the dinner, Holofernes toasts Judith's beauty while she tries to keep him at bay. He promises to keep the peace in exchange for her love. As he gets more and more under the influence of the wine, the general becomes overwhelmed by sleep. Judith grabs her chance and decapitates Holofernes with his own sword. She and Abra, her handmaiden, place the head in a bag and flee from the Assyrian camp. Upon their return to Bethulia, the citizens and the high priest Ozias hail Judith as a heroine.

Insights

5 things to know about Juditha Triumphans

1° Brave deeds

The story of Juditha Triumphans comes from the apocryphal Book of Judith, which chronicles the Assyrian siege of the Jewish city of Bethulia. The beautiful young widow Judith goes to the Assyrian army commander Holofernes to beg for mercy and sways him with her charms. But while he lies asleep after too much food and wine, Judith cuts off his head and returns to Bethulia triumphant. The story of her bravery inspired dramatic paintings by the likes of Giorgione, Caravaggio, Gentileschi and Allori.

2° Women at war

Vivaldi originally composed Juditha Triumphans for the girls of the Ospedale della Pietà, an orphanage in Venice internationally renowned for its outstanding music school. He therefore wrote it for an all-female cast, giving the roles of the Assyrian general and the high priest of Bethulia to contralto soloists. The oratorio features large choral passages and a richly instrumented orchestra, as befitting the occasion of its composition – to celebrate the Venetian victory over the Turks in the 1716 Siege of Corfu. This victory was short lived, however, as two years later Venice lost their seventh – and final – war with the Ottoman Empire, triggering the long decline of the once great maritime republic. Juditha Triumphans’s libretto is in Latin and was written by Iacopo Cassetti.

3° Art imitating art

‘This oratorio is one of the highlights of the baroque age or even all of musical history,’ says director Floris Visser. ‘Bach has his St Matthew Passion; Handel, his Messiah; and Vivaldi has his Juditha Triumphans.’ The Dutchman wanted to incorporate Caravaggio’s portrayal of Judith beheading Holofernes but didn’t know how to make that happen. Then it occurred to him: What if Holofernes is a German Wehrmacht general who doesn’t just massacre peoples, but also steals art?

4° Music to stop time

French mezzo-soprano Gaëlle Arquez debuts at Dutch National Opera in the role of Juditha. ‘I like to be outside my comfort zone,’ she says, which has led her to singing a varied repertoire of titles including Xerxes, Carmen, Pelléas et Mélisande and Norma. At the Victoires de la Musique 2011 Arquez was extolled as a ‘Révélation Lyrique’ and in 2017 she released her debut solo album, Ardente Flamme, on the Deutsche Grammophon label. ‘It is like fireworks,’ she says of Vivaldi’s music. ‘There are beautiful vocal decorations and then very quiet lamentations, which are so deep that time itself seems to stop.’

5° Basel Baroque

La Cetra Barockorchester was founded in 1999 by Peter Reidemeister, then director of the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. The orchestra specialises in early music and regularly accompanies operas at the Basel Theatre. Andrea Marcon has been chief conductor since 2009, and under his direction the orchestra has become one of the leading ensembles in historically informed performance practice. The name La Certa refers to an ancient lute-like instrument, and was the title of a set of twelve violin concertos by Antonio Vivaldi first published in Amsterdam in 1727 and dedicated Charles VI, Holy Roman Emperor.