Macbeth
Deutsche Oper am Rhein

Macbeth

Verdi
Diffusé le Disponible jusqu'au Enregistré le
Chanté en
italien
Sous-titres en
anglais
italien
allemand

Après une bataille victorieuse, des sorcières prédisent une couronne au général écossais Macbeth. Celui-ci et sa dame assoiffée de pouvoir décident de forcer le destin et d'assassiner leur roi Duncan dans son sommeil. Par leur acte sanglant, ils déclenchent une spirale de violence sans précédent qui conduira le couple tout droit vers l'abîme.

Macbeth est l'une des œuvres les plus démoniaques de William Shakespeare. Afin de capturer au mieux l'atmosphère surnaturelle de l'œuvre originale, Giuseppe Verdi, fervent admirateur de Shakespeare, a composé au plus près du texte original et a courageusement expérimenté de nouveaux timbres. Dans un décor remarquable d'Henrik Ahr, semblable à un immense chaudron, Michael Thalheimer focalise sa mise en scène sur Macbeth, Lady Macbeth et les sorcières. Antonino Fogliani, spécialiste de Verdi, dirige cette production à la distribution prestigieuse, aux chœurs opulents et éblouissants.

DISTRIBUTION

Macbeth
Hrólfur Sæmundsson
Lady Macbeth
Ewa Płonka
Banco
Bogdan Taloș
Macduff
Eduardo Aladrén
Malcolm
David Fischer
Servant des Macbeth, Médecin, Sicaire, Apparition
Valentin Ruckebier
Suivante de Lady Macbeth
Mara Guseynova
Apparitions
Josefine Nagerski
Marie-Sophie Tétard
Sorcière
Birte Hopstein
Fleanzio
Marie-Sophie Tétard
Roi Duncan
Norbert Kaulhausen
Chœurs
Deutsche Oper am Rhein Chorus
Chœur des enfants
Akademie für Chor und Musiktheater e.V.
Orchestre
Düsseldorfer Symphoniker
...
Musique
Giuseppe Verdi
Texte
Francesco Maria Piave
Direction musicale
Antonino Fogliani
Mise en scène
Michael Thalheimer
Lumières
Stefan Bolliger
Chef des Chœurs
Gerhard Michalski
Décors
Henrik Ahr
Costumes
Michaela Barth
Dramaturgie
Bettina Auer
Anna Grundmeier
...

Vidéos

Teaser

Un avant-goût de Macbeth

Un chemin sanglant vers le pouvoir.

Lire moinsLire la suite
En coulisses

Michael Thalheimer (metteur en scène)

Rencontre avec le metteur en scène Michael Thalheimer. Dans un décor remarquable d'Henrik Ahr, semblable à un immense chaudron, Michael Thalheimer focalise sa mise en scène sur Macbeth, Lady Macbeth et les sorcières.

Lire moinsLire la suite
En coulisses

À la rencontre de Macbeth et Lady Macbeth

Rencontre avec Hrólfur Sæmundsson (Macbeth) et Ewa Płonka (Lady Macbeth) au Deutsche Oper am Rhein.

Lire moinsLire la suite
En coulisses

Introduction à Macbeth

Rencontre avec le chef d'orchestre Antonino Fogliani, le chef de chœur Gerhard Michalski et la sorcière Birte Hopstein au Deutsche Oper am Rhein.

 

Lire moinsLire la suite

L'histoire

Acte I

Trois groupes de sorcières apparaissent dans la forêt, dans un accompagnement d’éclairs et de coups de tonnerre. Deux généraux de l’armée de roi Duncan, Macbeth et Banquo, les rencontrent à leur retour d’une campagne victorieuse. Lorsqu’ils s’adressent à elles, les mégères saluent Macbeth comme Sire de Glamis et Cawdor, ainsi que comme futur roi d’Écosse, puis elles saluent Banquo en lui annonçant qu’il aura plus de chance que Macbeth : il ne sera pas roi, mais engendrera des monarques. Des messagers du roi arrivent et communiquent à Macbeth qu’il vient d’être nommé Sire de Cawdor. Macbeth et Banquo sont surpris de voir que la première prophétie se réalise.

Dans l’entrée du château de Macbeth, Lady Macbeth reçoit une lettre de son mari lui racontant ce qui est arrivé. Quand un serviteur annonce que le roi Duncan va arriver avec son mari, la femme a déjà un plan pour assassiner le monarque. Dès que Macbeth la rejoint, elle l’incite à commettre ce meurtre. Le roi arrive, avec son fils Malcolm. Macbeth attend que tombe le silence de la nuit pour entrer dans la chambre du souverain et l’assassiner. Bouleversé par son geste, il se sent pris d’angoisse, alors que sa femme garde son sang-froid. Elle prend le poignard ensanglanté des mains de Macbeth et le dépose à côté des gardes endormis, pour qu’ils soient accusés du régicide. Macduff, gentilhomme à la suite du roi, entre dans la chambre de Duncan pour le réveiller et le trouve mort. A ses cris d’effroi, tout le monde se précipite, y compris Macbeth et Lady Macbeth qui s’unissent au choeur de malédiction contre l’assassin du roi.

Acte II

Macbeth est devenu roi d’Écosse, car Malcolm, le fils de Duncan soupçonné du meurtre de son père, s’en réfugié en Angleterre. Macbeth converse avec sa femme dans une pièce du château et lui confie ses préoccupations sur les prophéties, notamment sur celles prédisant que Banquo devrait engendrer des monarques. Macbeth a donc l’idée de faire disparaître le général et son fils. Lady Macbeth approuve cette décision et encourage son époux encore une fois.

Des tueurs à gage se préparent à tuer Banquo et son fils Fleanzio dans le parc. Les deux victimes arrivent, Banquo ayant un triste pressentiment. Tandis que les tueurs l’attaquent et le tuent, son fils réussit à s’échapper et à se mettre à l’abri.

La cour est réunie dans une salle des fêtes pour un banquet en l’honneur du nouveau roi et Lady Macbeth porte un toast. En aparté, le tueur annonce au roi Macbeth que Banquo est mort, mais que son fils est en fuite. Le roi se dirige vers le siège de Banquo dont le spectre lui apparaît, invisible aux autres, l’empêchant ainsi d’avancer. Macbeth, en proie à des hallucinations, effraie ses hôtes en prononçant des phrases décousues et délirantes. Sa femme essaie de le calmer pour reprendre le toast, mais le spectre de Banquo revient vers Macbeth qui se met à pousser des cris, en proie à la terreur. Les invités effrayés s’éloignent préoccupés.

Acte III

Dans une sombre caverne, les sorcières dansent en lançant leurs sorts. Macbeth arrive pour les interroger sur son avenir. Trois apparitions répondent qu’il devra se méfier de Macduff, mais qu’aucun homme « né d’une femme » ne lui nuira; il sera invincible tant que la forêt de Birnam ne se mettra pas en marche contre lui. Macbeth, encore non satisfait, demande si les descendants de Banquo règneront après lui. Voilà alors qu’apparaissent huit fantômes de rois. Le dernier est justement Banquo qui rit en tenant un miroir à la main où se reflète l’image de futurs souverains, dont sa progéniture royale. Comme un fou, Macbeth se lance contre les fantômes pour s’en défaire, puis s’évanouit, épuisé. Autour de lui, des ondines et des sylphides entreprennent une nouvelle danse. Une fois revenu à lui, Macbeth retrouve sa femme à ses côtés et décide d’exterminer les familles de Banquo et de Macduff.

Acte IV

Dans une lande désolée à la frontière de l’Écosse et de l’Angleterre, Macduff a monté un camp avec des réfugiés et des exilés écossais qui pleurent sur le sort de leur patrie opprimée. Quant à lui, Macduff pense à sa famille qui a été massacrée sur ordre de Macbeth. Malcolm les rejoint à la tête d’alliés anglais et commande aux soldats d’arracher chacun une branche de la forêt de Birnam pour se camoufler de façon à se rapprocher du château du roi ennemi.

Dans le château, un médecin et une dame de compagnie veillent sur Lady Macbeth, prise de folie. La reine se frotte sans cesse les mains pour enlever une tache de sang invisible. Sans se rendre compte de ceux qui l’entourent, elle rôde dans le château comme une somnambule, complètement folle, victime des remords les plus horribles.

Macbeth est effrayé. Quoique que rassuré par la prophétie disant qu’aucun homme « né d’une femme » ne pourra lui nuire, il regrette de ne pas avoir d’héritiers. La nouvelle de la mort de Lady Macbeth le laisse indifférent, mais il est frappé par ce que lui annoncent ses soldats sur la forêt de Birnam qui est en train d’avancer vers le château. Le roi saisit alors son épée pour courir sur le champ de bataille.

Les soldats anglais avancent cachés derrière des branches dans une grande plaine. Puis, ils s’en débarrassent pour dégainer leurs épées et se jeter à l’assaut. Macduff rejoint Macbeth et lui révèle avoir été extrait du ventre de sa mère avant terme, si bien qu’il n’est pas « né d’une femme », puis il le frappe à mort. Malcolm est acclamé roi d’Écosse.

EN PROFONDEUR

Une couronne de plomb

La dramaturge Katherina Lindekens rencontre le metteur en scène Michael Thalheimer
 

Qu'est-ce qui vous fascine dans l'œuvre de Shakespeare ?
Je pourrais travailler sur Shakespeare toute ma vie sans jamais le comprendre entièrement. C'est un génie insondable. Ce qui me fascine le plus dans son univers, c'est que toutes ses œuvres tournent autour de trois grands blocs thématiques : l'amour, le pouvoir et la mort. Il y a quelque chose d'universel et d'archétypal dans ses pièces. C'est ce qui les rend si intemporelles. Chaque génération peut s'en inspirer et doit en même temps trouver sa propre clé pour les appréhender.

Dans votre mise en scène, on peut vraiment ressentir le nihilisme de la pièce...
Je connais très peu d'opéras qui soient aussi sombres. Comme le dramaturge allemand Heiner Müller, Verdi a réduit Macbeth à l'essence même du drame. Selon Verdi, la pièce est caractérisée par trois personnages principaux : Macbeth, Lady Macbeth et les sorcières. Toute la tragédie tourne autour d'eux.

Que pensez-vous de ce triangle, d'autant que Lady Macbeth est plus importante pour Verdi que dans l'original de Shakespeare ?
Macbeth est un personnage faible. Ou plutôt : il est puissant, mais il a une femme encore plus puissante à ses côtés. Il l'aime et fait tout pour la rendre heureuse. C'est précisément ce qui le rend faible. Ensemble, ils rêvent de la couronne. Et lorsqu’un groupe de sorcières prédit précisément cette couronne, il faut s’attendre à ce qu’on les croie. Les sorcières peuvent être vues comme une visualisation de notre société actuelle, qui demande à l'individu de toujours avoir, vouloir et faire plus. Nous sommes condamnés à réussir. En fait, Macbeth est confronté à une prophétie qui se réalise d'elle-même. Les sorcières sont dans sa tête, elles font partie de lui-même. Et il conçoit son propre destin en essayant de rendre sa femme heureuse.

Pensez-vous qu'il agit par amour ?
Pas dans le sens traditionnel. Ce n'est pas une coïncidence si Macbeth est le seul opéra de Verdi qui ne contienne pas de duo d'amour. Mais on ne peut pas dire non plus que la pièce est sans amour. Je pense que les Macbeth s'aiment d'une manière tordue. Ils dépendent l'un de l'autre, mais se sentent seuls dans leur union. Il sait qu'elle désire un homme puissant et fait donc tout pour satisfaire ce désir, jusqu'à assassiner le roi Duncan pendant qu'il leur rend visite. Lady Macbeth murmure toutes sortes d'atrocités à son mari, et il la suit. En commettant les meurtres ensemble, ils entrent dans une spirale infernale qui finit par les rendre fous. Elle se replie sur elle-même, il se tourne vers l'extérieur : l’un comme l’autre de manière destructrice.

Son ambition s'étend même au-delà de cette vie : l'idée que le fils de Banquo puisse un jour devenir roi est insupportable pour Macbeth.
Oui, cette obsession, ce fantasme est dans sa tête et dans son cœur. Sa course vers le sommet est un scénario qui se déroule automatiquement. Seulement voilà : Macbeth veut absolument devenir roi, mais il ne s'est jamais demandé s'il était capable d'accomplir cette tâche. Il en va de même pour Lady Macbeth. Le couple n'a aucune vision et exige exclusivement le pouvoir. Que se passe-t-il ? La tâche les dépasse largement. Ils perdent tout contrôle, sur eux-mêmes comme sur le royaume. Sous leur couronne, il y a un vide insondable, une immense peur de l'échec, à laquelle la violence effrénée est la seule réponse. Ce mécanisme s'observe encore aujourd'hui en politique. Comme Macbeth n'arrive pas à assumer son rôle, il attise la violence et la brutalité en raison de sa propre peur et de sa frustration. Tous ceux qui s'opposent à lui sont mis hors d'état de nuire.

La tragédie personnelle des Macbeth est donc aussi politique ?
Tout à fait. Macbeth est une pièce politique. Elle se déroule en temps de guerre entre les reines et les rois. En même temps, ce drame dépasse la politique : c'est une histoire universelle, un archétype.

Dans la section des costumes, on peut voir de longues étagères de kilts. Un choix intéressant pour une pièce dans laquelle les frontières entre masculinité et féminité s'estompent.
Les genres sont en effet un thème constant dans Macbeth. Par exemple, dans la célèbre scène de banquet de Shakespeare, Macbeth devient fou lorsqu'il voit le fantôme du défunt Banquo assis à la table. Lady Macbeth défie son mari halluciné en faisant appel à sa virilité : "Are you a man ?" Inversement, avant le meurtre de Duncan, elle mentionne également sa virilité : "Come, you Spirits / That tend on mortal thoughts, unsex me here, / And fill me, from the crown to the toe, top- full / Of direst cruelty !" (Venez, venez, esprits qui excitez les pensées homicides ; changez à l'instant mon sexe, et remplissez-moi jusqu'au bord, du sommet de la tête jusqu'à la plante des pieds, de la plus atroce cruauté.). La relation entre les Macbeth renverse tous les stéréotypes de genre. Il est présenté comme un faible, elle comme une sauvage. En habillant tout le monde en tartan et en leur donnant des cheveux longs, nous jouons avec la thématique qui traverse l'opéra de Verdi : il n'est pas toujours évident de distinguer qui sont les hommes et qui sont les femmes.

Dans le Macbeth de Shakespeare, les costumes sont aussi toujours une métaphore du pouvoir. Au sujet du roi Macbeth, on peut lire : "Now does he feel his title / Hang loose about him, like a giant's robe / Upon a dwarfish thief" (Maintenant il sent son titre pendre lâchement sur lui, comme la robe d'un géant, sur un nain voleur).
Exactement, et cela nous ramène au début : le royaume et la couronne sont trop grands pour le faible et peureux Macbeth.

Macbeth
Deutsche Oper am Rhein

Macbeth

Verdi
Streamed on Available until Recorded on
Sung in
Italian
Subtitles in
English
Italian
German

After a victorious battle, the witches predict a crown for the Scottish commander Macbeth. In response to the witches’ prophecies, Macbeth’s thirst for power is fuelled dangerously by his wife and they decide to murder their king Duncan in his sleep. With this act of blood, they unleash an unprecedented spiral of violence that will lead them straight into the abyss.

Macbeth is one of William Shakespeare's most demonic works. In order to capture the supernatural atmosphere of the original play, the ardent Shakespeare admirer Giuseppe Verdi composed closely to the text and boldly experimented with new timbres. In a remarkable stage design by Henrik Ahr, which resembles a huge cauldron, Michael Thalheimer focuses his production on Macbeth, Lady Macbeth and the witches. Verdi specialist Antonino Fogliani conducts a stellar production, in which the opulent choruses repeatedly provide musical highlights.

Cast

Macbeth
Hrólfur Sæmundsson
Lady Macbeth
Ewa Płonka
Banco
Bogdan Taloș
Macduff
Eduardo Aladrén
Malcolm
David Fischer
Macbeth’s servant, Doctor, Assassin, Apparition
Valentin Ruckebier
Lady Macbeth’s lady-in-waiting
Mara Guseynova
Apparitions
Josefine Nagerski
Marie-Sophie Tétard
Witch
Birte Hopstein
Fleanzio
Marie-Sophie Tétard
King Duncan
Norbert Kaulhausen
Chorus
Deutsche Oper am Rhein Chorus
Children Chorus
Akademie für Chor und Musiktheater e.V.
Orchestra
Düsseldorfer Symphoniker
...
Music
Giuseppe Verdi
Text
Francesco Maria Piave
Conductor
Antonino Fogliani
Director
Michael Thalheimer
Lighting
Stefan Bolliger
Chorus Master
Gerhard Michalski
Sets
Henrik Ahr
Costumes
Michaela Barth
Dramaturg
Bettina Auer
Anna Grundmeier
...

Videos

Teaser

Sneak peek at Macbeth

A blood-soaked path to power.

Read lessRead more
Behind the scenes

Michael Thalheimer (Director)

Interview with director Michael Thalheimer. In a remarkable stage design by Henrik Ahr, which resembles a huge cauldron, Michael Thalheimer focuses his production on Macbeth, Lady Macbeth and the witches.

Read lessRead more
Behind the scenes

Meet Macbeth and Lady Macbeth

Interview with Hrólfur Sæmundsson (Macbeth) and Ewa Płonka (Lady Macbeth) at Deutsche Oper am Rhein.

Read lessRead more
Behind the scenes

Introduction to Macbeth

Interview with conductor Antonino Fogliani, chorus master Gerhard Michalski and the witch Birte Hopstein at Deutsche Oper am Rhein.

Read lessRead more

STORY

Act I

In a woods amidst bolts of lightning and thunder, three groups of witches appear. They meet two generals from King Duncan’s army, Macbeth and Banco, who are on their way back from a victorious battle. The witches greet Macbeth as Thane of Glamis and of Caudor, and as the future king of Scotland; they then greet Banco, telling him he will be happier than his companion, not a king, but the father of monarchs. The king’s messengers arrive, telling Macbeth that he has been appointed Thane of Caudor. Both Macbeth and Banco are amazed that the first prediction has come true.

In the hall in Macbeth’s castle, Lady Macbeth is reading a letter from her husband, describing what has happened. When a servant announces the arrival of King Duncan together with her husband, she has already devised a plan to murder the sovereign. In fact, no sooner has Macbeth arrived than he convinces her to carry out the murder. The king arrives and with him is his son Malcolm. Macbeth waits for nightfall so he can enter the king’s room and murder him. Distraught by such a criminal action, he is overcome with anguish whereas his wife remains calm: she takes the dagger covered in blood from Macbeth’s hands and places it next to the sleeping guards so that they will be accused of the crime. Macduff, one of the king’s servants, comes into Duncan’s room to wake him up and finds him dead. Everyone comes running when they hear his cries of fear, including Macbeth and Lady Macbeth, who join in the unanimous cursing against the king’s assassin.

Act II

Macbeth is the king of Scotland while Malcolm, Duncan’s son, has fled to England and is accused of having killed his father. Talking to his wife in a room in the castle, Macbeth admits he is worried about the prophecies the witches made regarding Banco, in particular the prediction that Banco would have fathered monarchs. Macbeth therefore nourishes the desire to eliminate both the general and his son. Once again, Lady Macbeth agrees with and encourages her husband.

The assassins are getting ready to kill Banco and his son Fleanzio in the park. They reach the two victims. Banco is overcome with a strange premonitory feeling of anguish: the killers attack and kill him, while his son manages to escape.

The court has been summoned to a banquet in a magnificent hall to celebrate the new king and Lady Macbeth makes a toast. In the wings, the assassin tells King Macbeth that Banco is dead but that his son has escaped unharmed. The king is about to take Banco’s place but his ghost, which is invisible to the others, stops him. Hallucinating, Macbeth begins speaking incoherently, frightening the guests. His wife tries to encourage him and repeats the toast, but once again Macbeth sees Banco’s ghost and cries out in fear, frightening the onlookers and making them take their leave.

Act III

In a dark cave, the witches are making spells and dancing. Macbeth arrives, wanting to question them about his own future. Three apparitions are conjured up: he must be on his guard against Macduff, no newborn female will harm him, and he will be invincible as long as Birnam Forest does not move against him. Still dissatisfied, Macbeth asks if Banco’s descendants will rule after him: eight ghosts of kings appear, the last of which is none other than Banco who, with a mirror in his hand reflects the images of future kings and points at his royal offspring. Macbeth throws himself against the ghosts like a madman in an attempt to destroy them, but he falls to the ground exhausted and faints. Around him, ondines and sylphs begin dancing. Once he comes to, with his wife at his side Macbeth decides to exterminate Banco and Macduff’s family.

Act IV

At a deserted place on the border between Scotland and England, Macduff has set up camp with Scottish refugees and political exiles. They are lamenting the fate of their oppressed homeland. Macduff is also thinking about his family who was murdered on Macbeth’s orders. Malcolm joins them at the head of the English allies and then tells each soldier to take a branch in Birnam Forest to camouflage themselves and approach the castle of the enemy king.

A doctor and lady-in-waiting are in the castle helping Lady Macbeth, who has been overcome with madness. She is continuously rubbing her hands to get rid of an invisible splash of blood. Without realising who is around her, she walks around the castle like a mad, exhausted sleepwalker, a victim of the most atrocious feelings of remorse.

Macbeth is frightened: although he is reassured by the prophecy that no female offspring can harm him, he regrets not having any heirs. He is not disturbed by the news of Lady Macbeth’s death; instead, he is struck when his soldiers tell him that Birnam Forest is moving towards the castle. The king takes his sword and rushes to the battlefield.

On a vast plain, the English soldiers are advancing, hidden by their branches. Once they have thrown them aside, they unsheathe their swords and throw themselves into battle. Macduff reaches Macbeth and, telling him that he was not born from a woman but removed from the womb earlier, kills him. Malcolm is proclaimed King of Scotland.

INSIGHTS

A crown made of lead

A conversation between dramaturg Katherina Lindekens and director Michael Thalheimer


What fascinates you about Shakespeare's work?
I could work on Shakespeare all my life without ever fully grasping him. He is an unfathomable genius. What fascinates me most about his universe is that all his works revolve around three major thematic blocks: Love, Power and Death. There is something universal and archetypal about his plays. That is what makes them so timeless. Every generation can be inspired by them and at the same time must find its own key to get to grips with them.

In your staging, one really can feel the nihilism of the play...
I know very few operas that are so gloomy. Like German playwright Heiner Müller, Verdi reduced Macbeth to the absolute core of the drama. According to Verdi, the play is characterised by three main characters: Macbeth, Lady Macbeth and the witches. The entire tragedy revolves around them.

What do you make of this triangle, especially since Lady Macbeth becomes even more significant for Verdi than in Shakespeare's original?
Macbeth is a feeble character. Or rather: he is powerful, but has an even more powerful wife at his side. He loves her and does everything to make her happy. That is precisely what makes him weak. Together they dream of the crown. And when a group of witches actually predicts exactly that, it can be assumed that they will be believed. The witches can be read as a visualisation of our society today, which calls on the individual to always have, want and do more. We are condemned to succeed. Essentially, Macbeth is dealing with a self-fulfilling prophecy. The witches are in his head, they are part of himself. And he designs his own destiny by trying to make his wife happy.

Do you think he is acting out of love?
Not in the traditional sense. It is no coincidence that Macbeth is the only opera by Verdi that does not contain a love duet. But you can't call the piece love-less either. I think that the Macbeths love each other in a twisted way. They are dependent on each other, but lonely in their togetherness. He is aware that she desires a powerful man and so he does everything to fulfil that desire - even murdering King Duncan while he is visiting them. Lady Macbeth whispers all sorts of atrocities to her husband, and he follows. As they commit the murders together, they enter a downward spiral that eventually drives them mad. She turns inwards, he turns outwards - both in equally destructive ways.

The ambition even extends beyond life: the thought that Banquo's son could ever become king is unbearable for Macbeth.
Yes, this obsession, this fantasy is in his head and in his heart. His race to the top is a scenario that happens automatically. The only thing is: Macbeth desperately wants to become king, but has never asked himself whether he can fulfil this task. The same is true for Lady Macbeth. The couple has no vision, craves only power. Then what happens? The task grows way over their heads. They lose all control - of themselves and of the kingdom. Beneath their crown gapes an immense void, an enormous fear of failure, to which unrestrained violence is the only answer. This mechanism can still be observed in politics today. Because Macbeth cannot cope with his role, he stirs up violence and brutality out of his own fear and frustration. Anyone who is against him is put out of action.

So the Macbeths' personal tragedy is also political?
Absolutely. Macbeth is a political play. It is set in times of war between queens and kings. At the same time, this drama transcends politics: it is a universal story, an archetype.

In the costume department there are long racks of kilts. An interesting choice for a play in which the boundaries between masculinity and femininity are blurred.
Gender is indeed a constant theme in Macbeth. For example, in Shakespeare's famous banquet scene, Macbeth is driven mad when he sees the ghost of the dead Banquo sitting at the table. Lady Macbeth challenges her hallucinating husband by appealing to his manhood: ‘Are you a man?’ On the other hand, she also addresses her masculinity before Duncan's murder: ‘Come, you Spirits / That tend on mortal thoughts, unsex me here, / And fill me, from the crown to the toe, top- full / Of direst cruelty!’ The relationship between the Macbeths turns all gender clichés on their heads. He is portrayed as weak, she as a savage. By dressing them all in kilts and giving them long hair, we play with the theme that runs through Verdi's opera: it is not always obvious who are the men and who are the women.

Costumes in Shakespeare's Macbeth are also always a metaphor for power. About King Macbeth is stated: ‘Now does he feel his title / Hang loose about him, like a giant’s robe / Upon a dwarfish thief’.
Exactly, and that brings us back to the beginning: the kingdom and the crown are too big for the weak Macbeth.